the crescendo


update
August 22, 2007, 3:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We have done so many things…it’s ahrd to keep track.

 Yesterday we spent the afternoon with a group of women who were widowed, raped, and infected with HIV during the genocide.  Apparently men who are known to be HIV positive would rape women in order to insure their painful death at a later time.  It was heart breaking – and yet it was beautiful to see how they have come together to support each other.  They talked about “the road.”  Being a road toward forgiveness and healing.  Some are far down the road, some are just starting, but they are together.

 Today we met with some Anglicans.  Apparently, in this church, there was 50% hutu and 50% tutsi population.  So, it seems that reconciliation has been an important issue there.  We heard the story of one man who killed three people and ordered the deaths of others.  He did so freely.  Afterwards, he heard the voice of God asking him “Why did those people die?”  He repented and confessed.  He spent some years in prison after the genocide – he was the first to confess.  Now, he is reconciled to the family of the people he killed.  In fact, two of the family members were the best men at his wedding.  Again, they spoke of “the journey.”  Some are not as far and need our prayers and others have come this far to the glory of God.

I am encouraged that the Kingdom is coming.

My new friend Noel – the most loving and Christ-like man here in Rwanda – says to you:

From my heart I am glad that Becky is here. I like to hear her preach because it comes from the under bottom of her heart. I like it very much. It encourages me. Thank you for sending her.

 Thank you all!  Keep praying – I need patience with my fellow teammates…would say more, but it wouldn’t be nice. 🙂


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey Beck!!!!!!!!!

I called your parents last night to ask how you were – didn’t think you would have had a chance to post. They let me know that you were doing good, but then I was also so happy to see that you have indeed been able to post in Rwanda. It is good to read your words. Heavy…but good. I have been praying for you and the team and cannot wait to hear all of the in-between details of this remarkable journey that you yourself are on. Please know that I am thinking of you daily and praise God for who he is revealing himself to be to the people of rwanda through you!

Comment by Annie




Leave a comment